Richard Marx: Right Here Cussing You Out

Album out February 2020

It was 1987. Two whole years before Taylor Swift was born. California was beginning it’s decades long affair with heat waves. Temperature dipped to a cool 88. Wealthy people had central air and no one knew how to operate it. Richard Marx song hits the radio “Hold on to the Night”.

This is definitely a Mom adjacent story. She listened to Hall and Oates and Peter Gabriel. Dad listened to Anita Baker, Marvin Gaye, and The Quiet Storm.

Just when I believed I couldn’t ever want for more
This ever changing world pushes me through another door
I saw you smile
And my mind could not erase the beauty of your face
Just for awhile
Won’t you let me shelter you?

Do you not know Richard Marx?! You can’t hear his smooth, slightly raspy voice guitarring you in a park. He spoke to the hopeless romantic in my child heart.

But then there was 1989 when he was “Right Here Waiting” for you.

Oceans apart day after day
And I slowly go insane
I hear your voice on the line
But it doesn’t stop the pain

Kinda pandemic-ky.

Wherever you go
Whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes
Or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you

Oh man! You’re going to be right there. Honestly. Truly. Strumming on that guitar. Flashing feathered 80s hair.

And then comes 2020.

He writes: Please read this and watch the video. This asshole threatened a man with a gun in a grocery store and when confronted by police resisted and fought with them. Oddly, the cops never punched him, put a knee to his neck, nor shot him. Hmmm. I wonder why.

And then he posted this image of a protest poster that reads: why should we go to school if you won’t listen to the educated.

And then Rep. John Lewis died and Marco Rubio posted a completely unnecessary and pandering photo of himself and another well known Black representative. That’s you and Elijah Cummings. Way to stay on brand, dipshit.

The tweet was unavailable by the time I discovered Richard Marx response to said dipshit. But that picture and screenshots of the tweet are captured for posterity. Everybody dared racist Republicans to say one word about John Lewis as if they’d never actively worked against him, and civil rights in general, and, well, a guy named Marco Rubio from Florida, was right there waiting his turn. 👋

As Scary Spice would say “it gave me a good belly laugh” and I certainly lmfao. I was stuck in the In-Between. The Doldrums. A dust storm. I didn’t have Richard Marx, in any capacity, on my 2020 Bingo Card. 😂

Leave a Reply